IMI - Award in MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7) - Level 2
This course is for people aged 19 or over
Faculty of Engineering, Aerospace and Automotive
Level Location Start Date End Date Day Time Fee Reduced Ask Apply
Level 2 Exeter College Technology Centre Please see below Please see below Mon-Fri Variable £675 None

What is it like to study this course and how will I be assessed?

The course consists of 3 days of theory one day of practical and one day of assessment in preparation for DVSA authorisation. On completion of the theory you will be required to pass an online assessment, the practical demonstration will be assessed on the final day, both elements need to be passed for progression. This course is for people who hold a Level 3 automotive technical qualification and have a 4 year checkable work history in the motor vehicle industry.

Dates are as follows:

  • Mon-Fri 09-Sep-19 to 13-Sep-19
  • Mon-Fri 14-Oct-19 to 18-Oct-19
  • Mon-Fri 28-Oct-19 to 01-Nov-19
  • Mon-Fri 11-Nov-19 to 15-Nov-19
  • Mon-Fri 02-Dec-19 to 06-Dec-19
  • Mon-Fri 06-Jan-20 to 10-Jan-20
  • Mon-Fri 27-Jan-20 to 31-Jan-20
  • Mon-Fri 10-Feb-20 to 14-Feb-20
  • Mon-Fri 02-Mar-20 to 06-Mar-20
  • Mon-Fri 16-Mar-20 to 20-Mar-20
  • Mon-Fri 20-Apr-20 to 24-Apr-20
  • Mon-Fri 27-Apr-20 to 01-May-20
  • Mon-Fri 11-May-20 to 15-May-20
  • Mon-Fri 08-Jun-20 to 12-Jun-20
  • Mon-Fri 22-Jun-20 to 26-Jun-20

What topics will I study?

The content covers health and safety, legal requirements and underpinning knowledge of vehicle systems to include braking, steering and suspension, vehicle electrics and engine emissions.

What are the entry requirements?

This course is for people who hold a Level 3 light vehicle technical qualification and have 4 years’ experience in the motor vehicle industry. Please contact trainingEAA@exe-coll.ac.uk to ensure that your qualifications meet requirements.

Please complete the IMI registration form as well as the college enrolment form (using the apply button above).

For further information on entry criteria please click here.

What facilities are there?

A live MOT test bay provides a realistic working environment, up to date PC access and modern resources relevant to industry. All of our trainers are current live MOT testers. 

Parking is available at the Technology Centre and FREE to MOT candidates. 

What can the course lead on to?

This course provides the entry point to full authorisation to carry out MOT testing.

We also offer MOT annual training, please click here for more information.

Are there any additional costs?

None.


It is important that you apply and pay for your course at least one week before the course starts to ensure that you will have access to all the facilities and resources in your first week.
Please be aware that there are no car parking facilities at Exeter College city centre sites, but public car parks are available across the city.

College Prospectus

back to top